Ominous rumblings of trouble to come

I’m on and off the internet these days, through no real fault of my own.

My baby is sick. I think she’s dying.

Oliver keeps saying we can have another one, and I should just get rid of her. But I’m not giving up so easily. Her internet connection keeps wavering, waxing and waning like an irregular heartbeat. Some days are better than others, but the days of reliable instant messaging are gone because she just doesn’t have the strength to keep the connection going steady.

I took her with me to the USA and into the nearest Genius Bar for help. Turns out they’re not so smart after all. They could only check the connection of the cable to the wireless card. Mr. Genius didn’t want to go further into her guts, he was afraid she’d die on the operating table and didn’t want that kind of responsibility.

My choices are to send her in and risk a nasty 800 dollar diagnosis that because of the famous saki incident Apple won’t pay for, or to wait it out and replace her when the inevitable comes.

We’ll just try and make these last months count before she’s offline forever, doomed to being a photo archive or something. Dial-up isn’t a real option, I’m against drastic means of resucitation.

In lieu of flowers please send RAM.

3 responses to “Ominous rumblings of trouble to come

  1. And here I thought you were talking about your maid again…

  2. that new macbook (non-pro) is coming out very soon. that might be just the ticket.

  3. Paul – it already plays a starring role in my dreams…