A storm by any other name

The fact that I hadn’t been watching much German TV became obvious today when everyone was talking about the Huge Storm coming and I was nonchalantly commenting how it was ‘a bit windy outside’. Evidently a 100 year storm was gathering steam at that very moment and preparing to blow through Western Europe and I was completely clueless.

Coming from the land of flash floods, earthquakes and massive forest fires, I shrugged when the first person asked me if “I was ready”for the storm. I thought, Sure is cute how those euro-pe-ans can get their panties in a bunch about the weather. (chuckle chuckle, slap knee)

After the third persom called to cancel a meeting because they were going home early, I started paying attention. At noon, Bavaria closed all of its schools and sent the kids home, which meant many businesses closed because everyone had to rush hom and get their kids. Viscious circle that one.

Around noon, I decided to call my sister-in-law to have her assure me that if only one window was titled open in the entire department, then it was very unlikely that the windows would slam shut and break.

At two an announcement went out that those employees who felt the need were allowed to leave early, effective immediately.

I finally left at 3:30 because I wasn’t sure if the trains would be cancelled or not, leaving me stranded in the boonies without a cab in sight. Shudder the thought.

At seven, I was speaking with Olli on the phone about the storm in general and whether or not this was all an overreaction. He was watching an online broadcast of a reporter on a tidal island in the north of Germany near a rather famous island/vacation spot called Sylt (sort of the German take on the Hamptons). There a reporter interviewed a local farmer, a tough guy, not prone to getting over excited about some water and a little hurricane.

The reporter asked him about his feelings for the storm,

His answer was,

This? This is nothing, we’re used to that here. When the sheeps’ wool is no curly, then it’s windy. When they fly throgh the air, now that’s when it’s a storm.

Batten down the hatches, Posts everyone!

361759249_bc42beaaaa.jpg

2 responses to “A storm by any other name

  1. Well considering that the DB stopped running trains across all of Germany last, I think you did the right thing to leave while there was still a train to catch. (This may not have affected your local trains.) There really wasn’t much to see here, but that doesn’t mean my heart doesn’t break for the parents of the baby who was hit and killed by a door.

  2. They really tend to overreact here. I’m just waiting for the news to coin this “Der Jahrhundert-Orkan” any moment now.