Bed, bed, bed

I am still here.

I just haven’t been here, here. Somehow, even though plenty is going on, by the time I get home, I either have no interest in powering up my laptop or when I do, I find I just don’t have the will to write anything.

Could have something to do with all the packing boxes everywhere. We are finally gearing up to move out of our tiny, cheap-but-wonderfully-centrally-located apartment in Haidhausen into a considerably larger apartment a little ways down the river. During his latest visit, Oliver and I have managed to pack about 20 boxes and hereby managed to make the office so cramped that neither one of us wants to go in there again, but Fergus since thinks it’s awesome, we have to go in rather often to pluck him off a high place or lure him out of a dark hole. Big day could be a soon as next week, depending on when we can get the moving company to come.

With a new place comes new furniture, and we’ve been shopping, among other things, for a new bed. We’ve been putting a lot of thought into this. We spent a great couple of nights last year at the Triton hotel, a cool hip hotel complete with wake up calls that offer you bad jokes to jar you out of sleep, a ‘party planner’ (aka concierge) and wine parties at five every evening (our kind of place). We fell in love with the bed, which of course, is also for sale.

But not in Europe.

Oliver’s mother just spent a fun-filled weekend in New York with one of her girl friends at the W Hotel. They also had a great bed, also for sale.

But also, not in Europe.

Sealy Posturepedic, Simmons Beauty Rest, why oh why are you so hard to find here?

Here in Germany they’re quite fond of this single mattress system with springy wooden slats underneath, but for that to work you need single mattresses. A double is really two mattresses, side by side, with a thick top layer to mimic the feel of one, big mattress. Trying to cuddle up on one of those is like trying to roll uphill. The minute you relax, back you go to your side. So not my thing, but apparently enough to sell in the USA. I did a search for American mattresses in Europe and instead landed at a Berkeley store selling European ones.

At the moment I’m searching around and looking for loopholes in the ironclad curtain that seems to keep American products of worth on American soil. This international purchase/shipping thing is proving harder than it looks. Anyone have any ideas?

17 responses to “Bed, bed, bed

  1. I don’t think it will fit in a suitcase, let alone carryon….. sorry

  2. When you come to visit you can come stay at our place. I know it isn’t as fancy as your hotel but we’ll tell you bad jokes and give you a glass of good cab at 5:00 and the Sealy Posturepedic at night. Just kick the westy out of your bed before you go to sleep.

    Good luck finding one

  3. Marc & Bonita

    We stayed at a hotel in LA and slept on a Tempurpedic mattress and we loved it so much that next time we buy a mattress we’re seriously considering going with it!

    They’re Swedish aren’t they so I figure they’d have a Euro presence!

  4. Marc & Bonita

    We stayed at a hotel in LA and slept on a Tempurpedic mattress and we loved it so much that next time we buy a mattress we’re seriously considering going with it!

    They’re Swedish aren’t they so I figure they’d have a Euro presence!

  5. Marc & Bonita

    We stayed at a hotel in LA and slept on a Tempurpedic mattress and we loved it so much that next time we buy a mattress we’re seriously considering going with it!

    They’re Swedish aren’t they so I figure they’d have a Euro presence!

  6. Marc & Bonita

    We stayed at a hotel in LA and slept on a Tempurpedic mattress and we loved it so much that next time we buy a mattress we’re seriously considering going with it!

    They’re Swedish aren’t they so I figure they’d have a Euro presence!

  7. Marc & Bonita

    We stayed at a hotel in LA and slept on a Tempurpedic mattress and we loved it so much that next time we buy a mattress we’re seriously considering going with it!

    They’re Swedish aren’t they so I figure they’d have a Euro presence!

  8. I have the same problem. The only place I could find an American mattress in europe was on a military base. Find someone with access and do it there.

    Sadly, an american mattress does not fit on the bed Sparky chose, they’re too deep. The pinched nerve in my neck isn’t very happy with this.

  9. Don’t forget sheets…MOM

  10. Don’t forget sheets…MOM

  11. Don’t forget sheets…MOM

  12. Don’t forget sheets…MOM

  13. Don’t forget sheets…MOM

  14. i had the same problem when i was in germany… i was able to find a double-sized bed (not two twin mattresses) — at kaufhof perhaps? good luck!

  15. Just to be sure that I really want this thing, I’m at the W Hotel right now in New York, trying this thing on for size. 😉 Actually, Olli just managed to get a great deal on three nights in NY so here we are. So far no one has cried off this mattress deal. We keep expecting a ‘dear john’ letter saying woops never mind. But so far, so goood.

    And Mom – the sheets are great xmas presents!

  16. I brought my American bed over when I first moved and I am dreading the quickly approaching time when the mattress will need to be replaced (it’s 8 years old now, but holding up okay for the moment). I am eager to see if you can come up with a solution! I don’t want a German bed 😦

  17. Megan – After I broke my back, and began researching mattresses, I actually ended up with one of those European mattresses sold from the store in Berkeley, and it is completely wonderful! I don’t know if it is actually the same as a “real European mattress”! Good luck