A Question of Tea




Tea anyone?

Originally uploaded by meganinmunich.

As the resident language expert in our office, colleagues come to me with all sorts of language questions. I’m normally happy to explain pop culture references, slang, and general idiosyncrasies of the English language.

This morning, in search of my first cup of coffee of the day, I walked into a kitchen discussion between several young associates that turned into my language Everest. It wasn’t that I couldn’t answer the question, I was just at a loss at how to carry the explanation out with a straight face.

Thank goodness for Google.

I’m pretty sure that the young guy in question is now regretting that he opened a discussion about ‘tea bagging’ in front of a large group of fellow dudes.

I will really miss moments like these if I have to leave.

8 responses to “A Question of Tea

  1. hee hee. when i was 16 i was working in my mom’s office as a summer intern. we all went to lunch and the subject of golden showers came up. my mother had no idea what it was and unfortunately it came down to ME telling her. horrifying yet hilarious.

  2. 🙂 and in that spirit, let me point out that my parents read this site faithfully, which means Mom and Dad just googled teabagging. Let’s hope the dog was out of coffee-spray range.

  3. Oh My God! Can we PLEASE change the subject?

  4. Oh My God! Can we PLEASE change the subject?

  5. Oh My God! Can we PLEASE change the subject?

  6. Oh My God! Can we PLEASE change the subject?

  7. Oh My God! Can we PLEASE change the subject?

  8. LOL! I didn’t know what tea bagging was until last year, I think. Wow, I guess I’ve been living under a rock.

    So glad that you’re back and I REALLY hope you guys can work something out that will let you be together somehow, somewhere. I totally get the situation you’re in (been there, done that, 4 years) and it can’t go on forever.