Shangri-La




Shangri-La

Originally uploaded by meganinmunich.

A sure sign of how much we’re being courted, we’ve been given a room in the finest hotel in town. At first I was a little embarassed at being given luxury accomodations for what is essentially a job interview.

After a walk around the block, I changed my mind.

Inside is predictable, normal and the people at least speak a few words of my language. Outside is completely alien. Walking down the street, I am bombarded with so much new information, it makes me dizzy.

These aren’t luxury surroundings. This is a sanctuary.

Tonight, we’re thankful for the invention of the mini-bar and room service. A walk around the block was enough for the first day.

2 responses to “Shangri-La

  1. you know, megan, when i talk to other people about being an expat and then being a woman expat then being a woman expat moving for a love, you are one of the examples i give as a successful transition. You are so brave in how you’ve chosen to live with dein kraut for the past year and now, moving again to another culture this one far more difficult, I am in awe. I only wish I could taste the ambition and courage and strength you have shown. Kudos and if you do move east, make sure Fergus stays indoors.

  2. Hi Megan –

    I know you’re out of town, but I just wanted to drop you a line and let you know that I’ve been reading your blog and really enjoy it. Especially being a brand-new expat from San Francisco myself. I would love to meet up with you some day when you’re back in munich, if you’re free.

    Hope you’re enjoying your trip and hope we can be in touch soon.