A quick change of topic




Just by chance

Originally uploaded by meganinmunich.

The issue of China is still unresolved, dependent on several factors out of our influence, leaving us tense and anxious to avoid the topic whenever possible. So dinner out on Friday seemed like a great idea for distraction. It was such a nice night we decided to walk for once to Makassar. We were about two blocks away from the restaurant when we heard something like an animal’s cry.

After some looking and with the help of a cheap LED headlamp I happened to have in my purse we determined the sound to be coming from underneath a parked car.

Correction, from inside the underside of a car.

Oliver tried going underneath to have a look, but the clearance was so low, he couldn’t really move. He did see a small set of kitten ears. I went in next and, after ten extremely tense minutes, managed to grab, twist and stuff what turned out to be a very upset, very small kitten through an even smaller opening. I passed him to Oliver who cuddled him to his chest and was quickly rewarded with a nice bite on the thumb. Then he started purring so hard his whole little body vibrated.

He obviously been there for some time and most likely had crawled into the car at a different location and hitched a ride into the city. Dinner plans abandoned, we walked home looking at this little brown ball of fur Oliver had clutched to his chest, trying to keep the kitten close without getting blood on his already compromised shirt. We must have looked like a train wreck with our black and bloody hands, respectively, covered in pieces of filth and dirt from lying in the street.

We locked the little guy in the bathroom, away from Fergus, gave him food, water and the travel littler box. He’s skinny, very young and obviously suffering from cat flu and worms, but otherwise in surprisingly good shape. Saturday morning we took him to the vet, got him a nice round of medication and protein paste. He’s serving quarantine in our guest room until the drugs to their thing and then we’ll see how he and Fergus take to one another. And then we’ll see. He’s spunky, cute and perhaps too curious for his own good, if we don’t keep him I don’t think it’ll be a problem to find a home for him.

I’m still shaking my head about the whole thing, stunned at how it all went down. The whole experience scared the shit out of me because for a moment I wasn’t sure I would be able to get him out. He was tucked so far up behind the axle in the undercarriage, I had to ask myself if I was ok with hurting in order to get him free of the car. Luckily I didn’t and everything was fine, but I will admit to having a wobbly moment once it all was over. I don’t know how he managed to get in there in the first place.

Lucky for him we chose walking over the usual cab.

lucky little guy.jpg

lucky guy 2.jpg

4 responses to “A quick change of topic

  1. Awww, he’s too cute! And he chose you, yet still made you work for it. That means he’s totally a keeper…

  2. he did chose you. I can’t wait to find out the name you chose. Little guy has no idea how much more traveling he’s in for.

    If you find you cannot keep him, we’d be happy to.

  3. Too cute. Definitely should stay with you because it’s obvious that he chose you.

  4. Oh gees, how sweet! If I weren’t in Athens, I’d offer to take him also but I’d of course wait to see how he gets along with Fergus first.

    I’m so happy you and Ollie saved him. 🙂