Tra la la la la – ‘Tis the season for getting ho*rny

Horns, originally uploaded by meganinmunich.

A fabulous antique store downtown – that is always brimming with wondrous treasures like old corsets, church altars, ivory magicians’ wands and brass frog cages – yielded this housewarming present from my parents to mark their first (and unexpected) visit to our new apartment this December.

The flurry of activity spurred by their impending arrival, included finally hanging all our pictures, light fixtures, wall and bathroom mirrors, and settling on (and then compromising and buying a different) bed. We figured, since there are now no impending moves any time soon, we can finally finish moving into the apartment we’re in. Except for one or two more lighting decisions yet to made, we have finally (after six months), really and truly settled in here.

The one thing I’d felt was missing was some sort of nod to the surroundings, a touch of Bavarian chic to tie it all together. I’d been looking at a range of faux antler pieces, some with head, others without, all white, to fill the one, blank wall we had left. I’d entirely ruled out the real thing as I’d assumed that, barring shooting my own, I’d never be able to get my hands on some.

Figuring they’d enjoy the browse, I sent my parents to this unassuming but stupendous store and there, sitting outside on a chair was this rack. It now hangs over our new bed in an otherwise white, sparsely furnished room. Quite the eye-catcher, if I do say so myself.

Thanks Mom and Dad, it’s much better than a Christmas tree for hanging ornaments!

3 responses to “Tra la la la la – ‘Tis the season for getting ho*rny

  1. Those are exactly what I need for the new apartment …

    Cheers for 2008!

  2. Hey Megan; Nice Rack !!!! We are collecting antlers and such also for our recent acquisition of an unfinished cabin in Montana. Recently got a nice taxidermy fox. Uncle Dave

  3. This is exactly what I need in my bedroom… although I’m such a slob that it would, without a doubt, end being nothing but a glorified clothes hanger.

    I like your new digs! And with askimet on your side, the spamming should reach an all-time low.

Leave a Reply

