…and it’s not bad at all.

Observations:

1. The temperature is dropping.

2. There’s the scent of rain in the air.

3. Everywhere I look, it’s green.

4. No one is passing on the right.

5. There are no fanny packs in sight.

6. People are walking on the street… willingly.

7. People are drinking on the street… freely.

Conclusion: I am definitely not in California anymore.

4 responses to “…and it’s not bad at all.

  1. 😉 … for all that you describe

    ;-( … that one must cross the Atlantic to find it

  2. A friend turned me onto this blog and I can wait to go back and read all of your posts. I relocated from “The City” to Nuernberg as well (born and raised in San Francisco) and I’m sure I’ll be comforted by some of the surely similar experiences I’ve had with the move.

    By the way, it’s Lunar New Year and I would pay big money to be transported to Yank Sing for some dim sum right about now…or even a burrito from Gordos. Trying to embrace all things German, but the food back home is pretty unbeatable. Sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever stop missing it…

    • Another transplant! I’m of course curious to know more. Why? Work? Love? Both? Are you loving Nberg or tolerating it?

      I don’t even try to stop missing the City, I just channel all that into looking forward to the next trip over and planning everything that needs to be done, consumed or purchased.

      Dim Sum for breakfast on a Sunday morning…that would be heaven right now. 🙂

  3. I’m definitely not a seasoned veteran like you, but I’ve been see-sawing back and forth for the past 2 years between loving it here and just hanging in there. I met a German man through work and we dated for about 2 years before I decided to move to Germany for a 3 month “trial period”. Two years and a marriage later, it looks as though we’ll be here for a while.

    I’m so interested to read more of your blog (when I get a minute of leisure time) to see what you have to say about this whole experience. I think moving to Munich first may have been less of a culture shock for me. Having been born and raised right in the heart of San Francisco, I’m finding Nuernberg to be very quaint, but maybe just a little slow-paced for me…kind of like the Sonoma or Sacramento of Germany. Don’t get me wrong, I do love it here. There are days I wake up and feel like the luckiest person alive. But other days, nothing will cure the homesickness. (and this is the part that you probably understand better than anyone) It’s one thing being homesick for your family and friends from Anytown, USA. But add to that the fact that you are coming from arguably one of the “best” places on earth! Tough…

    I do visit home quite often which is nice and I have 2 running lists on my Blackberry :
    From US
    To US

    The From US has a list of random toiletries for which I haven’t found substitutes, certain cooking ingredients, and the occasional item I have stored in my parents’ basement.

    The To US list is mainly comprised of Lebkuchen, Dr. Hauschka, Rene Furterer, and German cleaning sponge orders from friends and family.

    Another example of how I cope: I spent 3 hours this morning making Mexican food from scratch.
    A girl needs her ethnic food and I won’t apologize for it.

    God…I could honestly talk about this for hours, but I don’t want to hog up your blog and I’m really not sure about blog-etiquette to begin with.

    I’ll just wrap up by saying that it’s nice to know there is a fellow city-girl in town and I hope maybe we can run into each other in person.

    LB

Leave a Reply

