Hot Topics: Red Cat Names and Burning Man

If you don’t post much, you have no business checking out your blog stats. I know this. I am guilty of this. And yet, I checked mine.

Hot topics on my blog of late? Burning Man gear and names for red cats. I should actually switch that because names for red cats comes first. Who would have known that names for red cats were so hard to come up with? I didn’t.

So to make things a little easier, here’s what I didn’t post when I got Fergus. Behold the alternative names for the red kitten:

Tony (as in the tiger, grrr)
Finnegan (but that was taken)
O’Malley (too many syllables)
Shaemus
Rory (but my friend of the same name might have been confused)
Guinness (more suited to a black cat, really)
Whiskey
Rusty*
Rufus*
Angus*
Paddy
*

…And my second runner up: Winston (which Oliver hated and thus vetoed)

There was also a whole list that emerged from a drunken discussion between my sister-in-law and the proprietor of our favorite restaurant that ended in him surveying the entire clientele that night. The names were kind of what you would expect from people in that condition and not much help.

And so after much soul-searching, Fergus got his name.  I think it’s a great name for a cat and it has the added bonus of not being a contender for people names for our friends and family, something people in our generation often notice way too late. (“Can’t name her Emma, sweetie, Emma pees on my laundry.”)

And for you Burning Man people, my updated shopping list is here, with a bit more explanation here. T-minus 12 days people. Do you know where your gorilla tape is?

*Updated, thanks Christina!

4 responses to “Hot Topics: Red Cat Names and Burning Man

  1. What about Rusty? We had three red cats when I was growing up – Paddy, Pete and Ambrose. They all came with names, though, so we didn’t get to choose.

  2. Of course, how could I overlook that one?

    I also forgot to list Angus. A beefy name for a small animal, but still… 🙂

  3. And there’s also Rufus. Doesn’t that mean “red-haired one” or something?

  4. Yeah you’re right. Rufus does in fact mean “the red-haired one”.

    (I wrote these next sentences with a stuffy college professor accent in my head.)

    Quite popular around the turn of the last century, Rufus has since taken a nose dive in the ranks, completely tanking in 1980, as evidenced by this handy report from my research at thinkbabynames.com.

    😉

    Maybe this trend is connected to all those prolifically propagating Irish finally assimilating and naming their kids something else?

    http://www.thinkbabynames.com/meaning/1/Rufus

Leave a Reply

